Holy Ground

I’m reading through Christopher J. H. Wright’s book The Mission of God: Unlocking the Bible’s Grand Narrative and in it he writes, “If God owns the universe, there is nowhere that does not belong to him.  There is nowhere we can step off his property.”  He goes on to say that, “The whole earth, then, [also] belongs to Jesus.  It belongs to him by right of creation, by right of redemption and by right of future inheritance…So wherever we go in his name, we are walking on his property.  There is not an inch of the planet that does not belong to Christ.

In reading this the thought occurred to me that if every “inch of the planet belongs to Christ” then everywhere I put down my foot is holy ground or at least capable of being so.  This is huge!  This is the sort of revelation that ought to have been there all along and for whatever reason is just now coming to the forefront of my mind and understanding.

In light of this, I must ask myself the question, how then do I / should I live?  If everywhere I step is [capable of being] holy ground and is therefore capable of producing a God encounter, how then should I live?  The short answer would be to live in the moment of expectation.  

The truth of the matter is however, that I (and likely many of us) don’t live in this sort of moment, for we’ve not realized or remembered that the ground upon which we stand in indeed holy.  So let this be a challenge to you as it is to me to live in the moment of expectation that God wants to reveal himself to you in a holy ground sort of encounter.  Who knows what you might see, feel, learn or experience!

3 thoughts on “Holy Ground

  1. What an amazing insight! It’s one of those times where you read it and it makes so much sense, that you wonder why you’ve never really looked at it like that before. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Oooh, I’m awaiting moderation! I hope I make the cut. PS- Why is my photo icon a purple, grimacing man with triangular eyes?

  3. Yes, you’d made the cut…lol. The reason you’re a purple, grimacing man with triangular eyes is because you don’t have a WordPress account and as such you’ve comment as a guest and guests are randomly assigned a weird little face icon to represent them. Nice right?

Leave a Reply

