Simple Statement, Difficult Action

Today is a monumental day, and no I’m not referring to the Cubs, bur rather I have discovered the answer to the question WWJD?

I was privileged to spend the day with a small group of people who had gathered together with Scot McKnight, living in the world of The Jesus Creed.  This is a book that I had sitting on my desk for some time, but had just recently read (seems timing is everything).

The premises of the Jesus Creed is simple — Love God with all you are and have in you and also love people (it is in the loving of others that we reveal our love of God).  Such a simple statement, but so very difficult to live out; to put into action.  Yet, Jesus did this and he instructs us to do the same.  WWJD has been answered!

The challenge was put before us to live the Jesus Creed; to “try it for a month,” McKnight said.  I thought about this on the way home, and just in unpacking what we had heard, I commented to my friend (he was with me for the day at the conference), “I’ll have to start this tomorrow.”  As we talked more I had to modify my statement from tomorrow to Monday, to Tuesday, and presently I think I am set to begin living the Jesus Creed somewhere the end of next week.

THIS IS GOING TO BE DIFFICULT!

Yet, I am open to the challenge; not sure if I am up to it.  I shall see, this next month should prove interesting…

“Hear, O Israel, the Lord our God, the Lord is one.
Love the Lord your God with all your heart,
with all your soul,
with all your mind, and with all your strength.”
The second is this: “Love your neighbor as yourself.”
There is no commandment greater than these. 

Leave a Reply

