The Cable Co. Makes No Cents

Allow me to retell a conversation I had the other day with my cable co.  First, a bit of backstory…

Two weeks ago I had called the cable co. in an attempt to lower my monthly bill.  This attempt proved successful without having to loose too much of my programing package.  I simply reduced my internet speed and dropped the Starz movie pack from my program.  What I didn’t know was that in dropping Starz, I also lost my digital music and TV On Demand programming.  The Starz we did not really use, the music and On Demand we did.  So yesterday I set off, determined to get my music back (this is reminiscent of “I want my MTV…”)

What follows is a paraphrased version of the conversation I had with Erika, the Cable Co. rep:

Erika: Mediacom, how can I help you.

Me: A couple of weeks ago I made some changes to my programing package and ended up loosing my digital music and TV On Demand, and I’d like to get those services back.

Erika: No problem Mr. Smith (we’d already gone through the technical who-are-you questions), we can do that for you today.

Me: Great, can you tell me what this would increase my bill to?

Erika: Let’s see, to add Starz back in is $6.00 a month, plus $6.00 a month for the digital cable box.  Mr. Smith, did you realize that before you were receiving your digital cable box for free?

Me: Nope!

Erika: Wait a second, let me see something here…

(sound of computer keys clicking)

Erika: Mr. Smith I can offer you HBO for $3.00 a month for 12 months which then gets you the digital cable box for free.  Would you like to add HBO to your programing package?

Me: So what you’re saying is, if I go with just Starz (which is all I was wanting in the first place) it will cost me an extra $12.00 a month, but if I add in HBO, it’ll only cost me an extra $9.00 a month, is that correct?

Erika: Correct, Mr. Smith.

Me: (DUH!!!) Sure, I’ll take the HBO deal then.

(more sound of computer keys clicking)

Erika: Mr. Smith, you are all set, is there anything else I can do for you today?

Me: No, thanks so much.

 

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining, but this makes no cents (pun intended).  

Leave a Reply

