When A Car Was A Car

Very likely you can’t go an entire day without hearing or seeing an ad for one of the major car companies. Honestly, I always thought car ads a bit strange; as if anyone watching Matlock would, during the commercial break, be motivated to leave the comfort of their couch and rush out to purchase a car because of the slick car commercial they just saw.

But, I already digress…

My earliest car memory was of the family station wagon. I remember it being a faded yellow with the fake wood panel boards running the length of the car. I was able to experience many a family car growing up; my fondest being my mom’s 1988 Geo Metro. Not only did I learn the basics of driving thanks to this car, but I also learned how to drive a manual; a skill I believe everyone of legal driving age should possess.

While I’ve never been what you would call a “car guy” I do appreciate a good car; a classic car you might say–if for nothing more than it’s sheer beauty and personal charm or character. And while I can’t sit around and talk shop with other car guys I do know that in comparison to a few decades ago, the cars of today don’t always measure up to the cars of yesteryear. So in the spirit of classic cars and fond memories, I’m pleased to offer this jaunt down memory lane [or for some, like my self, a history lesson].

 

1938 Buick

1938 Buick

1941 Chrysler Thunderbolt

1941 Chrysler Thunderbolt

1951 Buick LeSabre

1951 Buick LeSabre

1951 Studebaker Champion

1951 Studebaker Champion

1954 Buick Wildcat II

1954 Buick Wildcat II

1956 Ford Sunliner

1956 Ford Sunliner

1958 Edsel Convertible

1958 Edsel Convertible

1958 Mercury Turnpike Cruiser

1958 Mercury Turnpike Cruiser

ht: [Fred “Grandpa” Brandon]

4 thoughts on “When A Car Was A Car

  1. I am jealous of the yellow station wagon with faux wood panels. I have always had a fondness for the faux wood. I had a brief encounter with a faux wood paneled mini van when I was young, but it’s too sad to recount here.

  2. All I know is, I would have a hard time parallel parking any one of those. My car might not be as aesthetically pleasing as a classic car, but it sure fits into a tight spot.

Leave a Reply

