Star Light

star light

Living in the Mid-West, one quickly becomes familiar with the phrase, “If you don’t like the weather, wait five minutes.”  The other day, this statement became all too true; with temperatures in the mid-60’s.  I couldn’t resist, with more visible grass than snow, I had to spend some time outdoors.

With a full day under my belt, it was relaxing to simply sit out side and breathe in some fresh air and look up at the stars and relax.  And that’s when a thought struck me.

Living in the Mid-West, one quickly becomes familiar with the phrase, “If you don’t like the weather, wait five minutes.”  The other day, this statement became all too true; with temperatures in the mid-60’s.  I couldn’t resist, with more visible grass than snow, I had to spend some time outdoors.

With a full day under my belt, it was relaxing to simply sit out side and breathe in some fresh air and look up at the stars and relax.  And that’s when a thought struck me.

As I sat in my back yard looking up at the night sky it took several minutes before my eyes adjusted to my surroundings, accounting fro the various lights around, and I was able to notice the stars.  It’s a stark contrast the night sky viewed in the country verse that of the city.  It seemed the harder, longer I stared into the sky the more stars I became aware of, until it was if my eyes had chosen to igore the house, street and car lights around me and focus only on the light of the twinkling stars.

Isn’t this a lot like how we often approach God.  We want to see him, yet our focus is on the “lights” around us, and unless we shift our focus to ignore those lights, we struggle to see God even though he’s there.  Some times too, it’s simply a matter of location or position which enables us a better look at God.

So where is your focus?  What is your position?  Are you seeing God?  Or is your vision attuned elsewhere? As I sat in my back yard looking up at the night sky it took several minutes before my eyes adjusted to my surroundings, accounting fro the various lights around, and I was able to notice the stars.  It’s a stark contrast the night sky viewed in the country verse that of the city.  It seemed the harder, longer I stared into the sky the more stars I became aware of, until it was if my eyes had chosen to igore the house, street and car lights around me and focus only on the light of the twinkling stars.

Isn’t this a lot like how we often approach God.  We want to see him, yet our focus is on the “lights” around us, and unless we shift our focus to ignore those lights, we struggle to see God even though he’s there.  Some times too, it’s simply a matter of location or position which enables us a better look at God.

So where is your focus?  What is your position?  Are you seeing God?  Or is your vision attuned elsewhere? 

Leave a Reply

