Turning to face God in prayer

From 2 Kings 20

1 Some time later Hezekiah became deathly sick. The prophet Isaiah son of Amoz paid him a visit and said, “Put your affairs in order; you’re about to die—you haven’t long to live.” 2 Hezekiah turned from Isaiah and faced God, praying: 3 Remember, O God, who I am, what I’ve done!
I’ve lived an honest life before you,
My heart’s been true and steady,
I’ve lived to please you; lived for your approval.
And then the tears flowed. Hezekiah wept. 4 Isaiah, leaving, was not halfway across the courtyard when the word of God stopped him: 5 “Go back and tell Hezekiah, prince of my people, ‘God’s word, Hezekiah! From the God of your ancestor David: I’ve listened to your prayer and I’ve observed your tears. I’m going to heal you…

Oh to be the sort of individual who when they go to prayer has the reverence and boldness to turn and face God. Too often we take on a position of fear and cower in prayer; and while there certainly needs to be a holy respect for God he doesn’t want us believing the lie that we must approach him from a place of fear. May you and I the next time we pray firmly face forward before the God of all creation and make our praise and requests known. May we come to realize the freedom that is facing God in prayer rather than turning aside in fear. And may we see God at work in our lives as he moves in our lives to respond to our prayers.

2 thoughts on “Turning to face God in prayer

  1. It is interesting that communication between humans has taken on a venue limited by time and technology. Email, text messaging are just a couple examples. We are always running late. I certainly agree that our relationship with God has been formalized and clouded with misconceptions like fear. He made us for communion with Him, to communicate openly and freely. It is so easy to miss the pure joy and peace of knowing him by building walls of misleading concepts.

    Ken

    • Ken, I couldn’t help find your comment ironic… I just so happened to have read this passage on my iPod and then proceeded to offer this post still using my iPod. Ah, the blessing and curse technology can be for us.

      Thanks for sharing your insights.

Leave a Reply

