Devotional Thought Day 4

Reading: Genesis 12-15 (ESV)

Devotional Thought: Genesis 12:1-2; 4; 10-13, 15:6

1 Now the Lord said to Abram, Go from your country and your kindred and your father’s house to the land that I will show you. 2 And I will make of you a great nation, and I will bless you and make your name great, so that you will be a blessing.

4 So Abram went, as the Lord had told him…

10 Now there was a famine in the land. So Abram went down to Egypt to sojourn there, for the famine was severe in the land. 11 When he was about to enter Egypt, he said to Sarai his wife, I know that you are a woman beautiful in appearance, 12 and when the Egyptians see you, they will say, This is his wife. Then they will kill me, but they will let you live. 13 Say you are my sister, that it may go well with me because of you, and that my life may be spared for your sake.

I really enjoy the story of Abram [Abraham], probably because there is so evident his humanities and thus I can relate. What strikes me as I read the section for today is Abram’s faith, no faith moment in chapter 12 (see verses above).

Verse 1, the Lord tells Abram to move away from that which he’s known into that which is unknown. According to verse 4, Abram didn’t have much of an issue with God’s request. I however, probably would. Granted, many times in my life God has called me from the known to the unknown, and I eventually pack up and move. I don’t know however, if I’ve been as willing or compliant as Abram appears to be here in the passage.

Read a little further and our hero all of a sudden is having himself a moment of faith crisis; verse 10ff.  It seems to me that someone so willing to “go” would not be phased along the way; yet Abram is. She what I mean, we get to see his humanities in action. I’ve been this way, strong in faith one moment, and the next my faith seems to have all but left me. God being who he is however, always provides for redemption. Notice what it says in chapter 15.

15:6 And he believed the Lord, and he counted it to him as righteousness.

Despite his faith crisis, Abram has been redeemed and is repositioned to the place when God originally called him. This is my prayer, that in my times of faithlessness, God opts to redeem me and restore my faith and as he does I am found to be counted as righteous.

Leave a Reply

