Devotional Thought, Day 20

Reading: Exodus 7-9 (ESV)

Devotional Thought: Exodus 7:3-5; 13; 22-23, 8:15; 19; 32, 9:7; 12; 16-17; 30; 34-35

7:3 But I will harden Pharaoh’s heart, and though I multiply my signs and wonders in the land of Egypt, 4 Pharaoh will not listen to you. Then I will lay my hand on Egypt and bring my hosts, my people the children of Israel, out of the land of Egypt by great acts of judgment.

8:16 But for this purpose I have raised you up, to show you my power, so that my name may be proclaimed in all the earth. 17 You are still exalting yourself against my people and will not let them go.

What an interesting set of events here in these three chapters. The back and forth between Moses and Pharaoh; it’s like watching a heavy weight fight. It’s interesting to me though that God chose to “harden” Pharaoh’s heart throughout this exchange back and forth. Apparently this was done to show God’s power to the Egyptians, but I don’t wonder how much of it was also to prove God’s power to the Israelites.

Nonetheless, God in fact did display his power and we see it as a mighty awesome power indeed. This is a good reminder I think for all of us to remember that God is all-powerful, all-mighty, all-in control of everything. Even when it seems as though he isn’t, he is. I pray you find rest and peace in his power today.

Leave a Reply

