In The Beginning

Ref. John 1:1-2 (ESV)

I’ve read these words, I don’t know how many times, and for whatever reason today they seem to be sinking in deeper than before.
“In the beginning…” What freedom, what relief to know that Jesus was from the beginning. That not an ounce of anything came before him. He’s not only the “buck stops here,” but also the “buck starts here.”
I find comfort knowing that each and every situation of my life; the good and the bad… especially the bad, have all come after Jesus. That he was and is before them all. That not a single situation of my life will ever sneak up on Jesus, because he is positioned before each of them.
So why worry? Why stress? Why allow the situations of our life to feel bigger than Jesus’ love, truth, power and grace in our lives?
Let us not fear today for we belong to the creator of today. Let us not fear tomorrow for we are held by the one holding tomorrow. Instead, let us rest, in the peace of knowing that we belong to the one who is from the beginning.
2 thoughts on “In The Beginning

  1. I must confess, I’ve been tested today as to whether I really believe what I’ve written here. While I won’t go into the situations that have crept up today that has triggered the testing, I will say I’m pleased that God saw fit to remind me of the closing prayer (as I drive down the road stressing over the situation at present).

    While I don’t much enjoy the holy slaps upside the head, I do appreciate the fact God loves me enough to send them my way.

    So yes Lord, I do believe what I wrote hours earlier, but I still need your help to do so…

Leave a Reply

