Cosby Had It Wrong…

Remember Bill Cosby hosting the television program, Kids Say The Darnedest Things? You remember, when cute kids would end up saying some of the craziest things, and everyone would laugh. Good times, right? The truth of the matter is, kids don’t say the darnedest things, they simply repeat what they hear.

Case in point, the other day Lily was doing her absolute best to prove to the world that she is in fact a 3-year old toddler. I honestly think she was making her case for an Oscar or something. And while I was doing my best to keep calm and level headed I broke and under my breath said, “Lily you’re freaking me out.”

Needless to say, we made it through the remainder of the day, got Lily to bed and set our sights on a better day the next morning. The next morning did in fact come and we were greeted with the opportunity for something fresh and new. As we worked our way through the morning routine, we came to the point in the show where I’m now trying to help Lily get her coat on, so that we can get out the door and on our way. As a bit of a struggle ensued on who in fact would win in this battle of where-your-coat-no-I-don’t-want-to-wear-my-coat; I was floored to hear Lily say to me, “Dad, you’re freaking me out!”

I was busted. I tried not to laugh… we all did, but there was just no way to keep it in.

It was in that moment that I was yet again reminded that I am setting for my little daughter a great example of how to be in this world; that she is not only watching me, but she is listening too. Wow, what a way to be reminded of something that should be so very obvious.

“Dad, you’re freaking me out!” Oh my…

Leave a Reply

